Apu Kapadia and Steven J. Murdoch

Editors' Introduction

DOI 10.1515/popets-2015-0001

It is our great pleasure to introduce the first issue of PoPETs, an open access journal that publishes articles accepted to the annual Privacy Enhancing Technologies Symposium (PETS). Articles submitted to this issue were reviewed by an Editorial Board of 63 members, who are internationally recognized researchers in the field of computer security and privacy.

Starting with PETS 2015, the PET Board, which oversees PETS, decided to follow a hybrid conferencejournal model following in the footsteps of PVLDB.¹ A hybrid model brings journal-style reviewing to conferences to improve the quality of papers as well as to provide more predictable, but rigorously peer-reviewed, paths to acceptance for authors. Authors are able to submit papers to multiple deadlines per year, when their work has matured to the point of submission, and decisions are provided at predictable schedules. Furthermore, papers that are rejected in one round are eligible for resubmission in subsequent rounds. Recognizing the need to increase the availability of the publication, PoPETs is now being published open-access under the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs license.

To avoid conflicts of interest, the editorial board membership was published before submissions were opened and authors were asked to identify members who should not review their paper. In addition editorial board members were asked to identify any conflicts of interest that authors did not list, and the editorial board chairs also checked for any missed conflicts. Editorial board members were welcome to submit papers, but the board chairs were not.

There were 46 submissions to the first issue of PoPETs, each of which was assigned for review by 4 members of the editorial board. Where necessary external experts were recruited to review certain papers. Following the double-blind review, there was intensive

Apu Kapadia: Indiana University Bloomington, E-mail: kapadia@indiana.edu

Steven J. Murdoch: University College London, E-mail: s.murdoch@ucl.ac.uk

1 http://www.vldb.org/pvldb/index.html

discussion among the reviewers, other members of the editorial board and the chairs, and a consensus decision was reached. One reviewer was then selected to write a meta-review which summarised the conclusion of the discussion and justification for the decision.

Of the 46 submissions, 6 were conditionally accepted subject to minor revisions. One editorial board member was assigned as a shepherd and asked to ensure that during the 3 weeks allowed for the production of the camera-ready version the important points from the meta-review were addressed. All 6 such papers were ultimately accepted and are published here. We owe special thanks to to Claudia Diaz, Radu Sion, Adam J. Lee, Mohamed Ali (Dali) Kaafar, Paul Syverson, and Yang Wang for the effort they've put into ensuring that these important changes were made.

A further 11 submissions were invited to resubmit to a future issue of PoPETs after having made major revisions in order to address issues identified in the meta-review which the reviewers considered would take longer than the available time for making minor revisions would allow. Provided these papers are submitted to either of the next two PoPETs submission deadlines these papers will be reviewed by the same editorial board members if possible and judged against how well the authors have addressed the points raised in the meta-review.

The remaining 29 papers were not accepted due to them not being considered sufficiently close to the topics listed in the call for papers or due to there being issues which it was unclear could be addressed within the 3 months allowed for a resubmission. In this case the meta-review endeavoured to provide constructive comments to the authors to allow them to improve their paper. Authors would still be permitted to resubmit to PoPETs but in which case they would be reviewed as new submissions by new members of the editorial board.

We thank the following people for making the first issue possible:

Program Committee/Editorial Board:

- Sadia Afroz, UC Berkeley
- N. Asokan, Aalto University and University of Helsinki
- Adam Aviv, United States Naval Academy
- Erman Ayday, Bilkent University



- Lujo Bauer, Carnegie Mellon University
- Marina Blanton, University of Notre Dame
- Joseph Bonneau, Princeton University
- Nikita Borisov, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
- Kevin Butler, University of Florida
- Kelly Caine, Clemson University
- Jan Camenisch, IBM Research Zurich
- Srdjan Capkun, ETH Zurich
- Claude Castelluccia, INRIA Rhone-Alpes
- Kostas Chatzikokolakis, Lix Ecole Polytechnique
- Graham Cormode, University of Warwick
- Lorrie Cranor, Carnegie Mellon University
- Anupam Datta, Carnegie Mellon University
- Roberto Di Pietro, Bell Labs France
- Claudia Diaz, KU Leuven
- Serge Egelman, UC Berkeley / ICSI
- William Enck, NC State University
- Zekeriya Erkin, TU Delft
- Adrienne Porter Felt, Google
- Simone Fischer-Hübner, Karlstad University
- Carl Gunter, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
- Ryan Henry, Indiana University Bloomington
- Amir Herzberg, Bar Ilan University
- Raquel Hill, Indiana University Bloomington
- Nick Hopper, University of Minnesota
- Amir Houmansadr, University of Massachusetts, Amherst
- Rob Jansen, U.S. Naval Research Laboratory
- Mohamed-Ali (Dali) Kaafar, NICTA Australia
- Jonathan Katz, University of Maryland
- Stefan Katzenbeisser, TU Darmstadt
- Negar Kiyavash, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
- Bart Knijnenburg, University of California, Irvine
- Markulf Kohlweiss, Microsoft Research
- Yoshi Kohno, University of Washington
- Adam J. Lee, University of Pittsburgh
- Wenke Lee, Georgia Institute of Technology
- Brian Levine, University of Massachusetts, Amherst
- Marc Liberatore, University of Massachusetts, Amherst
- Anna Lysyanskaya, Brown University
- Ashwin Machanavajjhala, Duke University
- Z. Morley Mao, University of Michigan
- Nick Mathewson, The Tor Project
- Prateek Mittal, Princeton University
- Steven Myers, Indiana University Bloomington
- Helen Nissenbaum, New York University
- Claudio Orlandi, Aarhus University

- Kenny Paterson, Royal Holloway, University of London
- Michael Reiter, UNC Chapel Hill
- Thomas Ristenpart, University of Wisconsin-Madison
- Mike Rosulek, Oregon State University
- Reihaneh Safavi-Naini, University of Calgary
- Micah Sherr, Georgetown University
- Reza Shokri, ETH Zurich
- Radu Sion, Stony Brook University
- Adam Smith, Pennsylvania State University
 - Jessica Staddon, Google
 - Paul Syverson, U.S. Naval Research Laboratory
 - Patrick Traynor, University of Florida
 - Carmela Troncoso, Gradiant
- Eugene Vasserman, Kansas State University
- Yang Wang, Syracuse University
- Matthew Wright, UT Arlington

PoPETs Steering Committee:

- Claudia Diaz (Chair)
- Roger Dingledine
- Rachel Greenstadt
- Nick Hopper
- Matthew Wright

Publications Chair:

- Qatrunnada Ismail

Publicity Chair:

Sadia Afroz, UC Berkeley

Web Chair:

- Jeremy Clark, Concordia University

We thank the following external reviewers:

- Adam Bates
- Jeremiah Blocki
- Henry Carter
- Hani Dawoud
- Zach Jorgensen
- Benjamin Mood
- Bradley Reaves
- Mark Ryan
- Nolen Scaife
- Mahmood Sharif

- Dave Tian
- Michael Tschantz

Finally, we are grateful to Silent Circle for their support as Proceedings Sponsor for the first two issues corresponding to PETS 2015, allowing us to waive article processing charges for this volume.

Sincerely,

Apu Kapadia and Steven Murdoch

Program Chairs of PETS 2015 and Co-Editors-in-Chief of PoPETs.